Aveyron, Midi Pyrenees, South of France
Explore Aveyron

map of Aveyron, Midi Pyrenees, France


The department is part of the Midi-Pyrénées region. Surrounded by the départements of Tarn, Tarn-et-Garonne, Lot, Hérault, Gard, Lozère, and Cantal. There are three main plateaus: Aubrac, Lévézou and Larzac. The highest point is Mailhebuau at 1469 m (Plateau of Aubrac).

Places to Visit

Conques and the Abbaye Ste Foy

Visit Conques for a quiet weekend - its lovely church and abbey, and the myriad of walks and explorations in the country around make it worthwhile to visit this pilgrimage church. One of the most beautiful villages in France.


Another village seething with mystery and grandeur. Perched above the River Tarn, the stunning architecture of
the castle, complete with pretty chapel, and zigzag of streets climbing to the castle's entry - presents a great place to explore, and wonder. The castle dates back to the 13th century, when it guarded and charged people crossing the river, and has a long and turgid history

La Couvertoirade

Knights Templar fortress village built in the 12th and 13th century, in beautiful condition. Now village full of artists, potters, jewellers, plus other artisans. Located on the Larzac plateau.